2018 CIArb Australia Vis Pre-Moot

November 24th, 2018

Back Row (L-R): James Sullivan, Andrew Di Pasquale, Kristian Maley. Middle Row (L-R): The Hon Susan Crennan AC QC; Neil Kaplan CBE QC SBS; Dr Michael Pryles AO PBM. Front Row (L-R): Mitchell Brunker and Azaara Perakath (University of Adelaide); Jack Donnelly, Nick Fidler, Emily McClelland, and Katelyn Lamont (University of Queensland)

The University of Queensland has narrowly prevailed over Adelaide University in the Grand Final of the 2018 CIArb Australia Vis Pre-Moot.

The teams appeared before an esteemed panel featuring The Hon Susan Crennan AC QC, Mr Neil Kaplan CBE QC SBS, and Dr Michael Pryles AO PBM at the Federal Court of Australia in Melbourne. As Ms Crennan remarked, the presentations by both teams were of the “highest quality”.

In recognition of their performance, the University of Queensland team have secured places at CIArb Australia’s Introduction to International Arbitration course in Brisbane later this year. This course is tutored by leading arbitration practitioners and provides a pathway to Associate membership of CIArb.

Organised by the CIArb Australia Young Members Group (YMG), the 2018 Vis Pre-Moot attracted teams from 12 universities: University of Canberra; University of Sydney; University of Adelaide; Monash University; Griffith University; La Trobe University; Deakin University; University of Notre Dame Australia (Sydney); University of Queensland; RMIT University; Queensland University of Technology and Bond University.

Preliminary Rounds were held in Brisbane, Sydney, and Melbourne from 14-16 February 2018, with Bond University, the University of Sydney, and RMIT University scoring the highest points in each round. Final Rounds were held in Melbourne on 1 March 2018, followed by a closing reception hosted by the Victorian Bar.

CIArb Australia Vis Pre-Moot is open to Australian teams participating in the Willem C Vis Moot in Vienna or the Vis (East) Moot in Hong Kong. The Pre-Moot gives teams an unprecedented opportunity to test and develop their skills in before experienced arbitration professionals, and to network with fellow students and practitioners, before leaving Australia for Vienna or Hong Kong.

We are grateful to Corrs Chambers Westgarth, McCullough Robertson, and the Federal Court of Australia for hosting the Pre-Moot again this year and very grateful to the many practitioners who generously volunteered their time to serve as arbitrators.

Congratulations to YMG Chair Kristian Maley who together with committee members James Sullivan and Andrew Di Pasquale, organised another stella program with support from Erika Williams, Robert Tang, and CIArb Australia,

CIArb Australia President, Caroline Kenny QC said: “It is gratifying to see once again the success of the Vis Pre-Moot. We will continue to invest in the professional development and engagement of younger professionals by providing a professional pathway through programs such as this and free student membership”

*Full report and images will be published in the December 2018 edition of The CIArb Australia News