Our History

CIArb Australia Leadership: Malcolm Holmes QC, Michael Shand QC, The Hon Garry Downes AM, James Creer (seated), Doug Jones AO RFD, Albert Monichino QC and John Wakefield. Former and Current CIArb Presidents photographed at the 9th Annual International Commercial Arbitration Dinner, 24 July 2014, NSW Law Society, Sydney (Absent are Derek Minus and Rashda Rana).

The Chartered Institute of Arbitrators is the world’s oldest established professional association dedicated to the development and advancement of the practice of arbitration.

Founded in London in 1915 and incorporated in 1924, it was granted a Royal Charter in 1979.

The Australian Branch of the Institute, CIArb Australia, was formed in 1995 and incorporated in 2006.