Ciarb Australia Vis Pre-Moot 2024

January 10th, 2024

And the winner is …

Congratulations to the University of Sydney who prevailed over Monash University in the Grand Final Round.  To all the teams we wish you well in Hong Kong and Vienna.  And well done to the CIArb Young Members Group for another resounding success. Special thanks to all who participated and to our hosts and sponsors: Clifford Chance and Herbert Smith Freehills. Full report to be published in The CIArb Australia News 2024

2024 vis pre moot winners

Left to Right: Thomas Martyn (U Syd), Olivia Donovan (U Syd), Kristian Maley (Chair, CIArb Young Members Group), Guillermo Garcia-Perrote (CIArb Fellow), The Hon James Allsop AC, Lachlan Ewers (Monash) and Avia Sanders (Monash)

The Pre-Moot in Photos. Credit: Tony Walters



Ciarb Australia Vis Pre-Moot 2024

*Breaking news: The Hon James Allsop AC (Chief Justice of the Federal Court of Australia 2013 – 2023) appointed President of the Grand Final round.

In 2024, the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Australia Branch (CIArb) Vis Pre-Moot will be held in Sydney on 19-20 February 2024. Now in its seventh year, the Pre-Moot is organised by the CIArb Young Members Group (YMG), and jointly hosted by Clifford Chance and Herbert Smith Freehills.

The Pre-Moot is open to all teams participating in the Willem C Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in Vienna, or the Vis East Moot in Hong Kong, in March 2024. Team registrations will be capped at 16 teams on a first-in basis.

The Pre-Moot uses the moot problem of the Vis Moot and Vis East.   It is one of many pre-moot events held in the leadup to the Vis Moot each year. The Australia Pre-Moot is the only such event of a similar scale in Australia or Oceania.

Teams should register via this link by Friday 2 February 2024.

Update: Information for Registered Teams and Arbitrators

  • Team draw (including team schedule and round pairings)
  • The Vis Pre-Moot Guide (including guidance for teams and arbitrators, and information about event logistics)

Event Format

The Pre-Moot will be held across three full days in the Sydney CBD. This will comprise:

  • 6 general rounds (4 on day 1, and 2 on day 2); and
  • semi final and grand final rounds (day 2); and
  • a networking function (day 1) and closing reception (day 2).

The rounds will be held at the Sydney offices of Clifford Chance and Herbert Smith Freehills.

Information for arbitrators

To run the Pre-Moot, we rely on the members of the arbitration community to generously volunteer their time to serve as volunteer arbitrators. We encourage practitioners, academics, and others with an interest, experience, or expertise in commercial arbitration to volunteer as arbitrators. Please register via this link.

Volunteer arbitrators will be scheduled for one or more rounds on 19 and 20 February 2024. Each round will have panel of 3 arbitrators. In allocating arbitrators to these panels we aim to match volunteers of differing levels of seniority and expertise.

Before the Pre Moot, volunteer arbitrators should review:

Arbitrators may also wish to consider:

Indicative timetable

The below indicative timetable is provided for information only and will be confirmed closer to the date.

19 February 2024
Start Finish Event
9:30am 10:00am Registration and briefings
10:00am 11:30pm Round 1
11:30am 1:00pm Round 2
1:00pm 2:00pm Lunch
2:15pm 3:45pm Round 3
3:45pm 5:15pm Round 4
5:45pm 6:45pm Seminar/workshop
6:45pm 7:30pm Drinks reception
20 February 2024
Start Finish Event
9:30am 11:00am Round 5
11:00am 12:30pm Round 6
12:45pm 1:30pm Lunch
1:30pm Announcement of finalists
2:00pm 3:30pm Semi-Final Rounds
4:00pm 5:30pm Grand Final Round
5:30pm 7:00pm Closing reception

Further information

For inquiries about the Pre Moot, please contact Kristian Maley, Ciarb Australia Young Members Group Chair, at